"Welcome to Derry"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Welcome to Derry"

I've read that HBO Max is developing a prequel to It called Welcome to Derry. Any thoughts on this?

One of my questions is: Did King have a say in this particular brand extension? Almost seems like he didn't, because although I am not a King expert by any means, I would think he wouldn't necessarily be interested in seeing such a project put into production. I don't think he's really into franchise creation. This brings up the question, does he own the rights any longer to It? I know I've read that on certain books he didn't exactly own them, maybe the earlier ones; I hope he at least got paid for the recent It films.

I think this could be interesting, although honestly, sometimes I am getting tired out by all these prequels/sequels/etc. I read that one of the things that attracted the director to this idea of a prequel is that It has been around for millions of years and has its own mythology. That might make for a few interesting prologue-type scenes where It maybe tangles with dinosaurs, or cavemen. We could see pictures of cave paintings depicting It (then again, was any of that in the book? As I write this out, it's seeming familiar to me; maybe I'll have to check, I'm thinking of the smoke-hut scene (or whatever it was called in the novel) where the kids get visions of the coming of the creature).

I always thought Derry could be the basis for a series, called Derry, of course. Mike Hanlon could have investigated strange goings-on in the city, it could have been an X-Files-type thing. Not all the strange stuff would have been tied to the clown. I suppose this type of set-up could have been done for 'Salem's Lot as well.

Originally posted by JJ123 View Post
    I've read that HBO Max is developing a prequel to It called Welcome to Derry. Any thoughts on this?