A question for the "real" authors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A question for the "real" authors

There is a lot of good information below in the article posted by CD. However, I have an honest question for many of you "real" authors and/or writers.

Do you make a living at this?

I'm new to writing - I don't know the terminology, publication process, methodlogies, etc. but am intrigued following the conversations on this board.

I'm no dummy; unlike the Gen Y population, I realize that career progress and compensation are dictated by experience, practice, and competence. I don't expect overnight success but am curious about expected earnings in this field.

How long did it take you to break into this and transition from hobby to career? How much do you typically receive for your short stories when published in anthologies or magazines? If you are skilled enough to get a book deal - in this genre - what's your typical pay? If you're in a dry spell and aren't getting much interest in your stuff, how do you make ends meet?

Thanks!

RJ
    It ain't braggin' if you can do it. . .

I guess that depends on how you define living. I've met some that claim to support themselves, but now days there are far too few professional markets and plenty of awesome authors to submit to them. So the chances of getting in a pro-market are much like winning the lottery by the odds, although your skill will play heavily into that. A lot of those I see making the most money do the self-publishing thing, but doing that will likely taint you with agents and traditional markets. I would think that most authors aren't making enough money to live off of it unless you see their name listed at a place like this or above. Even then they might be doing some side work. I'm just guessing though as I have yet to get to that point myself.
    Website l Facebook l Author Page l Twitter l Instagram l Amazon

Comment