Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Collecting questions

Senior Member 2nd Rubber Room Confinement Theli's Avatar

Collecting questions

I am relatively new to collecting books. I have a large enough collection of not so collectible books, but only recently have I really been going out of my way to track down signed, limited, or first edition copies. So here's my first question, if you have a first edition copy of a book and it doesn't say anything about which printing is it fair to assume it is the first printing? Some of my books say First ed. 1st printing, or first ed. 2nd printing etc., but some just say First Edition. If not how can I tell which printing it is?

The second question is, how the hell do you guys get advanced copies of books, other than buying them on the secondary market?

Any responses will be appreciated!

Senior Member Ok, I really can't come up with anymore of these stupid things... srboone's Avatar
    I've won a few on Goodreads (and am trying, unsuccessfully so far, to win some on Librarything). CD offered a advance edition club for 2013 (they used to offer them periodically throughout the year, but this year decided to group it all together in one bunch--so I'm stuck for another year without that outlet ). Some people review them for websites and get them form the publisher for that purpose. And, of course, there's the secondayr market. Someone else probably has more ideas...

As for the 1st edition printings, yes, but there are resources online that can help you with that question. For example, for stephen king books, I use http://skcollector.com/.
    Last edited by srboone; 04-22-2013 at 05:22 AM.
    "I'm a vegan. "

---Kirby Bliss Blanton , The Green Inferno (2013)

Senior Member Ok, I really can't come up with anymore of these stupid things... srboone's Avatar
    Which book(s) are you having questions about?
    "I'm a vegan. "

---Kirby Bliss Blanton , The Green Inferno (2013)