Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[INDEXED]Submerged by Thomas F. Monteleone

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • TacomaDiver
    replied
    Finally got around to finishing this the other day, and while it was a fun ride, I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have liked. To save myself from regurgitating the entire review, I'll just copy and paste my Goodreads review:

    I hadn't ever heard of Thomas F Monteleone before I bought this book from Cemetery Dance (a small publisher, mostly known for horror, that puts out some beautiful signed editions, which is why I bought it in the first place.)

    The story was described as a thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum. And while aid story definitely lived up that description, I wasn't able to fully enjoy it as much as I was wanting to.

    I try not to let bad proofreading detract from my reading enjoyment, but there were far too many instances of plural words including apostrophes (a huge pet peeve of mine in fact.) And then there was the SCUBA diving part . . .

    I'm unsure if the author is a diver, but I'm leaning towards the fact that he's not, and everything he learned about diving was through a poorly worded Google search.

    The author liked to use a lot of words and terminology that you'd find in the SCUBA diving community, but the information wasn't used properly. First, there is no timer that says how much air you have - air is measured by pressure, and the deeper you go, the less air you have because you're using it up faster.

    Second, 60 feet is not a realistic death for a German submarine to remain undiscovered in the Chesapeake Bay for nearly 70 years. He also treats 60 feet being some extreme depth that the only the most experienced of divers should ever attempt. While the characters are diving at this depth, the author introduces the concept of nitrogen narcosis and the bends, which while related, are definitely not the same thing.

    During all of this, I kept thinking that the divers should be using nitrox instead of regular air, which is about the time the author states the divers are using tri-mix. Sixty feet would be a strange depth to be using tri-mix on, and then he never once mentions the fact that if the divers were breathing this mixture (tri-mix is oxygen, nitrogen and helium) the divers should have been speaking in a helium squeaky voice.

    Oh and let's not forget that these divers never once used a line and reel while exploring a submarine! I think they all had death wishes.

    It might seem petty to not enjoy a book as much because of technical inaccuracies, but those first dozen chapters bothered me so much, I kept hoping they'd all be eaten by a Giant Pacific Octopus. (A species of Octopus most definitely not found in the Atlantic . . .)

    Leave a comment:


  • frik51
    replied
    My copy arrived just now! looks like another winner!
    I'm happy.

    sk

    Leave a comment:


  • srboone
    replied
    More annoying is the author's tendency to leave out prepositions. He also makes his German dialog alternately sound like English, German translated into English and German translated into English with bad grammar. But it's a good story! This is my first Monteleone novel also; though I have read some of his short stories.

    Leave a comment:


  • TacomaDiver
    replied
    My copy arrived today. Not sure when I'll get to this but it's been placed in the To Be Read pile (which is growing at a record pace. And to think that I thought that two hours of train riding every day would be enough to keep the pile contained.)

    Regarding the improper use of apostrophes - it's all too common nowadays to use them to signify a plural. Doesn't make it any less painful though.

    The book looks great. Never read anything by him before and I'm looking forward to it. Didn't realize that it has been two years in the making. Wow. (I must have gotten one of the last copies.)

    Leave a comment:


  • Brian James Freeman
    replied
    Originally posted by Dave1442397 View Post
    Yeah, it's no big deal. This kind of error has become much more widespread since spell check came along. I read at least 300 books a year, and these things usually jump right out at me.
    It always bugs me, too. We normally have a copyeditor and four to five proofreaders go over every book and sometimes stupid mistakes STILL slip through... ugh...

    Brian

    Leave a comment:


  • Dave1442397
    replied
    Originally posted by Brian James Freeman View Post
    That's too bad to hear. The author, as you may know, is also a book publisher and he brought his own design team for the interior of this one. I'll pass along your notes to him.

    Brian
    Yeah, it's no big deal. This kind of error has become much more widespread since spell check came along. I read at least 300 books a year, and these things usually jump right out at me.

    Leave a comment:


  • Brian James Freeman
    replied
    Originally posted by Dave1442397 View Post
    I read it yesterday - good story!

    The copy editors are slipping, though. I found German's and Nazi's where it should have been Germans and Nazis, and also (I think on p492) a 'then' instead of a 'than'. Spell check is not always your friend.
    That's too bad to hear. The author, as you may know, is also a book publisher and he brought his own design team for the interior of this one. I'll pass along your notes to him.

    Brian

    Leave a comment:


  • Dave1442397
    replied
    I read it yesterday - good story!

    The copy editors are slipping, though. I found German's and Nazi's where it should have been Germans and Nazis, and also (I think on p492) a 'then' instead of a 'than'. Spell check is not always your friend.

    Leave a comment:


  • frik51
    replied
    Got my shipping notice as well - finally!

    sk

    Leave a comment:


  • jsweet
    replied
    Originally posted by jsweet View Post
    OK, thanks. I'll assume mine will be shipped soon, then!
    Got my notice this afternoon. Looking forward to it.

    Leave a comment:


  • srboone
    replied
    Mooooorrrre booooooooookks.......mmmoooooooorrrrrrrrre boooooooooooooooks.....

    Leave a comment:


  • Joe315
    replied
    What do you expect when you have Dan packaging books into the wee hours of the morning.

    Leave a comment:


  • TJCams
    replied
    I bet it's pretty common to have the shipping doors busting open with books to be shipped at some times!

    Leave a comment:


  • bsaenz24
    replied
    Rarely a sign of good news!!

    Leave a comment:


  • Brian James Freeman
    replied
    Originally posted by frik51 View Post
    Same here. Still waiting for my shipping notice.
    Today hopefully??

    sk
    Not sure... I found this sign on the door when I arrived at the warehouse this morning:

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X