PDA

View Full Version : Low numbers - Do they really make a difference

Greenelk
09-18-2011, 03:55 PM
I've been collecting books for many years now, but I've never had any of them valued, or really looked into that (wouldn't know where to begin for a start), and I've never sold any.

I know I've got a copy of rare items, such as the review copy of Micheal Marshall Smith's Only Forward, which I belive there are very few of, and a few other books that seem to sell for silly money these days.

However, I was wondering if having a low number of a limited does in people's opinions make a difference to value? I've got a number 1 of the PS Publishing version of Colorado Kid (Slipcased JK Potter edition) but I'm not sure why that would make it worth more than number 150 of 150?

Is it an individual taste thing, or am I just spouting rubbish?

Thoughts on this one appreciated.

G

Ben Staad
09-19-2011, 12:09 AM
I've been collecting books for many years now, but I've never had any of them valued, or really looked into that (wouldn't know where to begin for a start), and I've never sold any.

I know I've got a copy of rare items, such as the review copy of Micheal Marshall Smith's Only Forward, which I belive there are very few of, and a few other books that seem to sell for silly money these days.

However, I was wondering if having a low number of a limited does in people's opinions make a difference to value? I've got a number 1 of the PS Publishing version of Colorado Kid (Slipcased JK Potter edition) but I'm not sure why that would make it worth more than number 150 of 150?

Is it an individual taste thing, or am I just spouting rubbish?

Thoughts on this one appreciated.

G