PDA

View Full Version : After the Burn

HorrorScribe
08-24-2011, 01:25 PM
Even though I was in the middle of another book, I just had to put it aside and begin Kelly's After the Burn after reading through this section of the Forum yesterday. I read the Intro and the first two stories. My initial reaction: Wow!!! This is my first time reading anything by Kelly, and I am amazed and impressed. He is definitely an author I intend to follow for the foreseeable future. Luckily, I have a copy of Hell Hollow on my shelf and a copy of Midnight Grinding on order.

His characters are alive, and though I've never visited the locales discussed in the stories, I felt as if I'd lived there my entire life. The subject matter (post-apocalypse) has fascinated me since I first read King's The Stand. (Dare I say it? Yes, I will.) So far, After the Burn has exceeded my expectations, and as long as the other six tales are as strong as the first two, I will enjoy this collection much more than I did The Stand.

And although I'm sure that the rest of Kelly's published works are of the same quality as After the Burn, any suggestions on what book(s) to track down first?

ChrisWood
08-24-2011, 02:06 PM
Thunderstorm Books will be releasing the Ronald Kelly Essential Collection under the Supercell imprint > http://thunderstormbooks.com/books.html

They will be done like the Black Voltage line, so if you liked the look and quality of the After the Burn HC, they will be the same. But they will come with added content, like short stories/novellas with links to the main story. Needless to say the Supercell series will be must haves!

bsaenz24
08-24-2011, 03:03 PM
Depending on what you want to spend.....Thunderstorm Books is releasing his 8 novels that originally came out in massmarket from Zebra. The first two out eill be Undertaker's Moon and Fear. I believe they are slated for late Sept. or early Oct. Both GREAT novels!!!

HorrorScribe
08-24-2011, 05:18 PM