New aspiring author here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New aspiring author here.

Hey, my penname is Ace Sorou, and I'm an aspiring author. I didn't know where else to post this, but this is me saying hi.

As an amateur author, I often write fanfics based on my favorite TV shows and games, however I feel it's time for me to create my own worlds, and publish original work. To that end, I've begun several projects. I was wondering if anyone had any advice in regards to what an author who's just starting out should do to get noticed.
    Last edited by Ace Sorou; 07-11-2013, 12:19 AM.

This is a good start; though I'm generally not a fan of psuedonyms. If a book is your work, put your name on it. A "cool" sounding name comes off flat most times.
    "I'm a vegan. "

---Kirby Bliss Blanton , The Green Inferno (2013)

Comment

To be honest, that name would make me not want to read it.

Comment

If you plan on using a pseudonym make it sound like a real name i. e. Richard Bachman, Jonathan Janz, A.J. Mathews or the like.

Comment

Thanks for the input. A funny story behind this name here...

When I was young, I wanted to be a pilot. My dad started calling me "Ace" since ace pilots were supposed to be the best. The nickname just stuck, even after my interests changed. One day, I decided to make a last name for my nickname, just for the heck of it. So, I remembered this jingle for some cookies I liked called 'Dunk-a-roos.' All I did was replace the word 'Dunk' with the word 'Ace' and created a new word from the sounds I heard.

It's strange, I know, but I was a kid, back then. The name has sentimental value to me, but I appreciate your input. I'll try to come up with something else.

And before you ask, no. I'm not using my real name, because some people have a hard time believing it's my real name.

Comment