View Full Version : Douglas Clegg Harrow House Series

08-18-2012, 10:03 PM
Does anyone know if these need read in order to understand what's going on?? Would you recommend picking these up? Please advise. Thanks!!

08-19-2012, 12:39 AM
Well, the order they came out in is Nightmare House, Mischief, The Infinite, and The Abandoned; from the descriptions, I'd probably go with reading them in order, but that's just how I tend to do it.


Author Note: Although the Harrow novels are a series, they may be read out of order, since each novel is fairly independent of the one previous. Each Harrow novel centers around a different time period in Harrow House's haunted history.

Harrow Series:

Book 1, Nightmare House - an old-fashioned horror tale.

Book 2, Mischief - a coming-of-age tale of mystery and ghosts.

Book 3, The Infinite - psychic investigators take on Harrow.

Book 4, The Abandoned -- an all-out gore-fest of a horror novel. Not for the faint of heart. Mayhem and horror.

Prequel Novellas, which are not set at Harrow but deal with two of the major influences on the house and its hauntings:

The Necromancer - set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.

Isis - set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she pays a terrible price for someone she loves.

08-19-2012, 02:11 AM
They can be read in any order really as none of the stories are really sequels, all their own unique stories. Isis and The Necromancer are also Harrow House stories, though more dealing with particular characters from the books, so may be better off reading those after reading a couple of the others

08-19-2012, 02:13 AM
Pretty sure I read Mischief first, then Nightmare House, The Necromancer, and Isis. Still haven't read the other 2 yet, might wait on reading The Infinite until I have HC edition of it, but do have a PB one if I change my mind.

09-02-2012, 05:29 AM
dunno. i want to check them out though